A Necessary Ongoing Conversation We Aren’t Having

women talkingI’ve written about this before. I’ve actually written a blog about these exact issues before. So, why am I still writing about domestic and sexual violence as an issue in our society? Because for as long as it is still an issue in our society, I will continue to talk about it. Because we all need to be talking about it.

The reason I started this blog was because of a moment I shared with a parent at Western Connecticut State University while staffing a table about the organization I work for, talking about our services. After explaining that we serve women, men, and children in the community dealing with domestic or sexual violence, she looked up and asked, “Is there a need for that?” Her question was genuine, non-confrontational, curious. It was not argumentative nor sarcastic. She genuinely did not know that there is, unfortunately, a monumental need for services for victims and survivors of domestic and sexual violence for individuals of all ages, genders, sexual orientations, races, religious backgrounds, etc. etc. etc.

It shocked me, yet at the same time not at all. It shocked me that people still do not see the prevalence of these issues. It shocked me because earlier that day I had already read two articles, one local and one national, about sexual assault and rape. It shocked me because as an educator where I work, I teach youth about these issues daily. It shocked me because statistically speaking, that woman probably knows someone in her life that has been affected by either domestic violence, sexual assault, or child abuse. It’s nearly impossible to go through life without knowing someone who has been. That may be a bold statement to make, but I welcome anyone to challenge it.

So, I returned to the office and thought to myself, ‘I can’t keep teaching youth about these issues, reading articles about these issues, and seeing these issues in my friends’ and family’s lives and NOT keep talking about it,’ This conversation is not just necessary because it’s important and relevant. It’s necessary because it can save lives.

Leave a Reply

